prizekillo.blogg.se

Western digital my passport hard drive reviews
Western digital my passport hard drive reviews








western digital my passport hard drive reviews
  1. #Western digital my passport hard drive reviews android
  2. #Western digital my passport hard drive reviews pro
  3. #Western digital my passport hard drive reviews software

Additionally, battery capacity has been improved significantly, from 3400 mAh to 6400 mAh, providing a claimed 11.5 hours of mobile power (6-8 hours under heavy use). It also supports 802.11ac Wi-Fi using both 2.4GHz and 5GHz networks, and WD tells us the new model is capable of WiFi data transfers up to 20 MB/sec compared to 9 MB/sec on the first edition.

#Western digital my passport hard drive reviews pro

On the hardware side of things, the My Passport Wireless Pro has a much faster SD card slot than its predecessor, with a 75 MB/sec read speed compared to 10 MB/sec on the previous model. In fact, a Western Digital representative told us that the company listened carefully to users of the first edition, and that most of the improvements in this updated model were in direct response to user feedback. This is the second iteration of Western Digital’s My Passport Wireless line of products we reviewed the original about a year and a half ago and, although it was great in concept, it felt a bit like a first attempt at a product with room to improve. In theory, it should appeal to those who want to back up photos and videos in the field, access their data from a mobile device such as an iPad, and even do some editing of their files without a computer.

#Western digital my passport hard drive reviews android

It’s a hard drive with its own built-in Wi-Fi network, internal SD card slot, USB connection, and dedicated iOS and Android apps. That’s exactly the challenge the Western Digital My Passport Wireless Pro is designed to address.

western digital my passport hard drive reviews

Unfortunately, I haven't found a viable way to do it since I usually need to back up data, do some editing in the field, and share images to social media or to clients. However, given the choice, it would also be one of the first things I would jettison from my travel kit thanks to the added weight and space it consumes in my pack.

western digital my passport hard drive reviews

The WD My Passport Portable, though not the fastest, offered very fast performance in my testing.If you’re like me, chances are good that a normal part of your mobile kit for photo travel is a laptop computer.

#Western digital my passport hard drive reviews software

Unfortunately, the backup software doesn't include a scheduler however, you can set it to work automatically when the computer is idle. You can choose to back up folders and files, or it can automatically back up important data, which is very useful for those who aren't as computer-savvy. Note that once the security feature is turned on, if you forget the password, there's no way you can access the data on it.įor Windows, the My Passport also comes with WD Backup, making backing up data a very easy and intuitive job. The former is for monitoring the drive's condition, reformatting it, and so on, and with the latter you can turn the drive's security features on or off. The drive is preloaded with WD Utilities and WD Security for both OS X and Windows. If you want to use it with a Mac, you'll need to reformat it into HFS+ before you can write to it. The drive is preformatted in NTFS all you need to do is plug it into a computer and it's ready to be used. There's nothing to setting up the My Passport when used with a Windows computer.










Western digital my passport hard drive reviews